

Part I – Release to Press

Meeting: COUNCIL Date: 20 JULY 2022



MEMBER SUBSTITUTION SCHEME FOR REGULATORY COMMITTEES

Author – Ian GourlayExt No. 2703Lead Officer – Matt PartridgeExt No. 2456Contact Officers – Luke Fattorusso / Ian GourlayExt Nos. 2174 / 2703

1. PURPOSE

1.1 For Council to appoint named Councillors as substitute Members ("Named Substitutes") for the Council's Regulatory Committees (Licensing, General Purposes and Planning & Development Committees), as required by the Substitution Scheme set out in the Council's constitution.

2. **RECOMMENDATIONS**

2.1 That Council appoints named Councillors as substitute Members in respect of Regulatory Committees, as set out in Paragraph 4.4 below.

3. BACKGROUND

- 3.1 At the Annual Council Meeting held on 25 May 2022, revised and updated Standing Orders were approved as part of the Constitutional Issues report. This included the approval of a new Standing Order 28 concerning Substitutes.
- 3.2 This new Standing Order stipulates that, in the case of a Regulatory Committee (Licensing, General Purposes and Planning & Development Committees) named Councillors will be appointed by the Full Council as substitute Members. Under this provision, a Councillor cannot be appointed by a Substitution Notice unless that Councillor has complied with the same requirements as to training as is required by regular Members of those Committees.

4. REASONS FOR RECOMMENDED COURSE OF ACTIONS AND OTHER OPTIONS

4.1 On 1 July 2022, the Political Group Leaders of the Council met to discuss the Substitution Scheme for Regulatory Committees.

- 4.2 At the meeting, the Group Leaders supported a proposal that the number of appointed named substitute Members would comprise a maximum of 50% of each Political Group's full membership on that Regulatory Committee, but with a minimum of two named substitutes per Group.
- 4.3 In which case, for 2022/23, this will comprise the following:
 - Licensing / General Purposes Committees (14 Members: 8-4-2) maximum of 4 Labour Group substitutes; 2 Conservative Group substitutes; and 2 Liberal Democrat Group substitutes; and
 - Planning & Development Committee (14 Members: 9-3-2) maximum of 5 Labour Group substitutes; 2 Conservative Group substitutes; and 2 Liberal Democrat Group substitutes.
- 4.4 The named substitutes for each Political Group on the respective Regulatory Committees are as follows:
 - Licensing / General Purposes Committee:
 - Labour Group Clirs Adrian Brown, Sandra Barr, Teresa Callaghan and Sharon Taylor OBE CC
 - Conservative Group Cllrs Phil Bibby CC and Wendy Kerby
 - Liberal Democrat Group 2 x Cllrs tbc
 - Planning and Development Committee:
 - Labour Group Cllrs Myla Arceno, Rob Broom and Nazmin Chowdhury
 - Conservative Group Cllrs Phil Bibby CC and Alex Farquharson
 - Liberal Democrat Group Cllr Tom Wren + 1 tbc
- 4.5 Following the appointed of the substitute Members made by Council, appropriate training will be arranged.

BACKGROUND PAPERS

BD1 - the Council's Constitution